Marshall Scholarship

Student with simulation goggles on their head looking at a laptop screen

This award requires campus endorsement; therefore, you must first participate in the campus competition which occurs each spring. The campus deadline is typically at the end of May. Access more information on the comprehensive campus application for the Rhodes, Marshall, Mitchell, or Churchill Scholarships.

Marshall Scholarships are awarded to up to 40 Americans to fund two years (sometimes one year) of graduate study in any field at any university in the United Kingdom. Scholars typically earn one, two-year degree or two, one-year degrees; extension for a third year is possible.

Selection criteria include:

  • an exceptional academic record (minimum 3.7 GPA)
  • demonstrated leadership
  • potential to serve as a citizen ambassador to the UK

View KU Marshall Scholarship campus application requirements.

Scholarship pays for tuition, living expenses, and travel costs. KU students apply for the nomination in spring of their junior year or up to one year after graduation. Email the Office of Fellowships at for more details.


Campus applications: mid-May

National applications: late September or early October

KU Recent Award Winners

Samuel Steuart (2020)